About Us

Home » About Us

Karenga district was created out of Kaabong District by an Act of the Ugandan Parliament on 15th June 2019 and became operational on 1st July 2019. Karenga district forms part of the Karamoja sub-region which is located in northeastern Uganda.  It is Internationally bordered by South Sudan (North) and Nationally bordered by Kitgum (West), Kotido (South), and Kaabong (East). It has two Constituencies; Napore West and Dodoth West, three(3) Town Councils; Karenga, Kapedo, and Kidepo Town councils, and seven(7) sub-counties namely Karenga, Lokori, Kakwanga, Lobalangit, Sangar, Kapedo and Kawalakol. 37 Parishes/wards and 228 villages.

The district covers a total Land area of 3,193 Sq Km with a population density of 22.89 (UBOS Projections 2023), and an estimated population of 73,100 with 36,000 males and 37,100 females (UBOS, 2023). The District is located between longitudes 33˚ 30’ 31’’ to 34° 3128’ and latitudes 3° 45’ 11’’ to 3° 6’ 44’’ east of the Greenwich Meridian. 

Map of Uganda showing the location of Karenga District.